Monday, September 14, 2009

India Wins Compaq Cup 2009 Title Defeating Sri Lanka in the Final

India clinched the Compaq Cup 2009 title with a 46-run victory over Sri Lanka in the final match on Monday. A brilliant century from star batsman Sachin Tendulkar helped India score 319 losing only 5 wickets. Tendulkar played an excellent knock of 138 from 133 balls.

On his way to 138, he developed three partnerships. First comes the opening partnership of 95 runs with Dravid who scored 39. Then for the second wicket, Sachin and Dhoni put on 110 runs where Dhoni’s contribution was 56 off 62 balls. Yuvraj Singh then joined Tendulkar and the pair put on 71 runs on the board very quickly before the dismissal of Tendulkar in the 46th over. Yuvraj was not out on 56 from 41 balls.

cricket365 reported:

Tendulkar, battled on, reaching his 44th one-day century with a single through the off-side off Ajantha Mendis.

He put on 71 runs for the third wicket with Yuvraj, but fell leg before to Mendis while attempting a reverse sweep, immediately after clobbering the spinner for a six and two boundaries off consecutive deliveries.

Chasing a huge total of 320, Sri Lanka had a brisk start thanks to two openers as they put on 64 runs within 7.5 overs. However, Sri Lanka started loosing wickets pretty regularly, and thus, fading their hopes of a successful chase. Thilina Kandamby and Chamara Kapugedera tried by scoring 66 and 35 respectively, but that was not enough for Sri Lanka to win the match. In the top order, Dilshan scored 42, while his opening partner Jayasuria scored 36. Sri Lanka was unfortunate as they lost the wicket of Sangakkara through hit wicket.

For India, off spinner Harbhajan Singh picked up 5 wickets for 56 runs. Sachin Tendulkar was awarded both man of the match and man of the series awards.


Post a Comment