Saturday, May 30, 2009

Can South Africa Win Twenty20 World Cup 2009?

South Africa is now the world no. 1 in ODI cricket and very closet o retain the no. 1 spot from Australia in test cricket. Still, they are without any major cricket title since 1998 when they won the inaugural Mini World Cup tournament (now known as ICC Champions Trophy) in Bangladesh.

South Africa is always considered to be a favorite, but still they have not won any World Cup title yet. The first event of twenty20 world cup took place in South Africa in 2007 and many thought that the Protease would end their wait for a major cricket title in front of home cricket fans. However, nothing improved on their bad luck.

Now, it is to see if South Africa can win the twenty20 world cup 2009. Well, there is no doubt, South Africa has a very strong squad and the Protease squad seems to be the biggest threat for India’s title defense mission in twenty20 world cup 2009 that kicks off from 5 June 2009.

Well, the main strength of South African squad is the presence of a number of all rounders. Coach Mickey Arthur said that South Africa would feature at least seven bowlers along with a batting line up featuring ten players capable of batting. So, you can guess the strength of the squad. Moreover, South Africa squad is a combination of young as well as experienced cricketers. There are hard-hitters like Smith, AB de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Jean-Paul Duminy, Albie Morkel. Moreover, there are experienced batsmen like Mark Boucher and Jacques Kallis.

To be honest, I am not surprised to hear that South Africa coach wants 7 bowlers and 10 batsmen in his final squad. Here is the probable final eleven of South Africa:

Graeme Smith, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Roelof van der Merwe, Albie Morkel, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson/Morne Morkel and Dale Steyn

Here, you can see that except Dale Steyn, other players can bat considerably. So, South African has a number of options in their squad and they could end up winning the tournament this time.


Post a Comment