Monday, April 6, 2009

England 30-Member Preliminary Squad for ICC World Twent20 2009

England selectors have announced the preliminary 30-member squad for ICC World Twenty20, starting from 5 June in England. The biggest surprise of the squad is the omission of Andrew Strauss who is the current captain of England test and ODI team. While talking about the reason behind the exclusion of Strauss, England selector Geoff Miller has said that England selectors and Strauss himself believe that he fits the test and ODI format of the game better than twenty20. Here, it is notable that Strauss returned to ODI squad of England in the recently-concluded ODI series against West Indies where he was most consistent batsman with a century. Still, he failed to impress the England selectors to make it to the initial twent20 squad of England for the twenty20 world cup.

There are five uncapped players in the 30-men probable including Joe Denly, Eion Morgan, all rounder Graham Napier, who plays for Essex, Chris Woakes and Yorkshire spinner Adil Rashid who was in England’s trip to West Indies. Chris Woakes took 49 wickets in domestic cricket to become the leading wicket taker of Warwickshire. England’s pace attack includes all rounder Tim Bresnan, Kabir Ali, Liam Plunkett, Chris Tremlett, and Sajid Mahmood. Tim Bresnan last played for England last August. Another surprise inclusion is Shaun Udal who has just reached at 40, but the spinner, who represented England in 4 tests, has got the reward of his excellent domestic form in twenty20 format. Another spinner in the squad is Samit Patel who missed the West Indies tour due to lack of fitness.

Here, I am giving the full list of 30-member preliminary squad of England for ICC World Twenty20 2009 from Cricinfo:

England squad:
Kevin Pietersen, Kabir Ali, James Anderson, Gareth Batty, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Stephen Davies, Joe Denly, James Foster, Andrew Flintoff, Stephen Harmison, Rob Key, Sajid Mahmood, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Samit Patel, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior, Adil Rashid, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Shaun Udal, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright.


Post a Comment